#hymnsforHim

Come, ye sinners… once we are brought into His family, THIS …this… is the Truth that we are promised. I am poor. I am wretched. I sin. I am weak – weak willed, and weak minded. Christians are not perfect. We cannot, and should not, claim to be. THAT is what makes us stronger. So, let’s read this:

Come, ye sinners, poor and wretched,
Weak and wounded, sick and sore;
Jesus, ready, stands to save you,
Full of pity, joined with power.
He is able, He is able;
He is willing; doubt no more.

Come ye needy, come, and welcome,
God’s free bounty glorify;
True belief and true repentance,
Every grace that brings you nigh.
Without money, without money
Come to Jesus Christ and buy.

Come, ye weary, heavy laden,
Bruised and broken by the fall;
If you tarry ’til you’re better,
You will never come at all.
Not the righteous, not the righteous;
Sinners Jesus came to call.

Let not conscience make you linger,
Nor of fitness fondly dream;
All the fitness He requireth
Is to feel your need of Him.
This He gives you, this He gives you,
‘Tis the Spirit’s rising beam.

Lo! The Incarnate God, ascended;
Pleads the merit of His blood.
Venture on Him; venture wholly,
Let no other trust intrude.
None but Jesus, none but Jesus
Can do helpless sinners good.

When I read/sing these words they cut at every aspect of my life. It’s just amazing what God does in this world by speaking through His people. Gifted people who can discern His Truth on such a beautiful level.

Come ye sinner poor and wretched, weak and wounded, sick and sore… weary and heavy laden, bruised and broken by the Fall. Who doesn’t feel that burden daily? Who isn’t reminded our life’s brokenness on a consistent basis? Yet, truly, if we tarry – if we push ourselves to be better…. to be stronger… to just fight that tempting mistress just a little more earnestly.. maybe God will like us more? Maybe if I’m just nicer to that weird guy at work. Or say my prayers more earnestly… Maybe I can tithe more! Or say more kind words? If I just read the Scriptures more! Do even more devotions! That is surely find favor in His eyes! If we tarry until we are better… we will simply never come at all…

How many people live their lives this way? How many religions are founded on such premises of merit based salvation? I sit here just exhausted contemplating doing those things simply to gain favor with an almighty being. Those works above are not bad things! In fact, as we read in James, if I am to count myself in the family of believers and do not do those things I have no faith. Faith without works truly is a dead faith. It is lukewarm, and Christ will in the end times spit you out for you were never truly for him. Our faith, wholly given in grace by God (so that none may boast), finds completion in works. But if we simply lean on them for salvation we will surely fall!

True belief… true repentance… they are found in Him. Lo! The Incarnate One pleads on our behalf – those who look to Him in grace given faith. Amazing grace it is! The merit that we desire is His blood. The works that we want to offer are simply to accept His sacrifice and offer our lives to the one who gave His. Him and Him alone do us good. We must, MUST, venture on Him – and wholly on Him – to find that true belief and true repentance. It is through Him that we find relief. Relief from hardship. From pain. From suffering. From heartbreak and tears. From the cascading and, at times, all enveloping sadness of death. It is He who breaks the cycle that sin tosses us into.

If you want to know more about Him who calls us ugly sinners to Himself. To come and dine with Him. Not to find wagging fingers, but a firm vision of who He sees you to be in Him – please, let me know. Share this with your friends, with your family. Reach out to me! I am by NO means an expert, but I can pray with you, pray for you!

And be praying for me! I thoroughly enjoy writing these posts! Hymns are beautiful, they bring such passion in such few words. But I need to keep my focus on this! Sometimes life can get confusing, and I will get pushed back and just need God to keep me pushing forward on my blog posts. Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

