When you feel sin creeping up…

#hymnsforHim

I’m posting a song that has a chorus. But when you read the verse, and place a refrain of the chorus between each verse, it has a true cadence that really drives home the central focus of the song. 
Chorus: To see the Law by Christ fulfilled, 

To hear His pardoning voice, 

Changes a slave into a child 

And duty into choice.
1. No strength of nature can suffice 

To serve the Lord aright 

And what she has, she misapplies, 

For want of clearer light.(Repeat chorus)
2. How long beneath the Law I lay 

In bondage and distress 

I toiled the precept to obey, 

But toiled without success.(Repeat chorus)
3. Then to abstain from outward sin 

Was more than I could do 

Now if I feel its power within 

I feel I hate it too.(Repeat chorus)
4. Then all my servile works were done, 

A righteousness to raise 

Now, freely chosen in the Son, 

I freely choose His ways.(Repeat chorus)
I feel like so many of the older hymns focus on one main subject, one main aspect of God: grace. Grace is what the authors want us to see in this life. Grace is what is so amazing about the Christian’s faith. It is so drastically different from every other religion. God came down in humility and picked us up. No merit. No rules. No “IOU” required. How beautiful is that?
I read these verses, and ask myself, “is that me?” Can I say that I am able to joyfully give up those fleshly pleasures that so enticed me? Honestly, that’s a hard answer to give. Many days it’s no. Many days my sinful flesh beats me. But I pray, that little by little, Christ is working to make that gap larger. That my trust in Him may grow stronger. 
And I think that is the point. We can’t do it ourselves. We can’t beat sin with just us and a mirror. We must have Christ. He is that catalyst that brings change. I guess my prayer today is that we can allow that catalyst to work in our lives. That we would let Him in. Let Him work out that grace so freely given. To turn this slave of unrighteousness into a child of righteousness. 
May that be your prayer too. Amen?

Leave a Reply

