Apostle’s Creed Pt2

Yesterday we looked at the first phrase of the creed:

I believe in God, the Father Almighty

Maker of heaven and earth…

Today we look at His son, Jesus Christ – our Lord.

Many out there state that there isnt much that separates Christianity from other religions. That other religions have the son of god as a figure head. That there are no overabundance of prophets proclaiming good news. That even the concept of dying for followers isnt only in Christian faith. But when push comes to shove, Christ is the lynch pin in Christianity. Which seems oddly obvious… given the name… anyways…

Christ, one of the Godhead… present since creation… God Himself in flesh form. This is something that is unique. Christ humbling Himself, from omni-everything to a mortal with needs and wants and pain and suffering… that is unique… A man who calls a people to both justice and mercy, in His name… that is unique. But when considered all together, it makes Christ and His ministry one-of-a-kind.

He is our Lord. Lord of our life. We must render it to Him, wholly. And that isnt easy. I really struggle with temptation. Daily. It is something that has plagued me for years. Giving everything over to Christ – to be Lord of all my life – is something I still have difficulties in. My sin nature pulls back so fiercely from the idea. But, it is still something that I know to be true. I know that Christ is Lord of my life, and that in the end my sin will lose that battle. I have my wife, I have friends, I have family, and I have the Church that is there (through God’s grace) to urge my forward. His Lordship demands that I fight, and fight I will.

His Lordship also demands a certain mindset in life. How I deal with people day by day. How I treat those created in His image. How I speak to people, and how I think about them. His Lordship calls me to something above the kindness of Southern hospitality. And that is a calling that He Himself exemplified. He treated people with respect – and in that respect He did not allow stones to be unturned. What was hidden in darkness found its place in the light. We all need that in our lives.

As we finish today, I urge you (I urge ME) to seek Christ. Seek His Lordship in your life. Seek His Truth. Seek His guidance on the path of righteousness – guidance to realize that you NEED Him to move down said path.

Amen!

Leave a Reply

