Under His wings I am safely abiding,
Though the night deepens and tempests are wild,
Still I can trust Him; I know He will keep me,
He has redeemed me, and I am His child.

Refrain

Under His wings, under His wings,
Who from His love can sever?
Under His wings my soul shall abide,
Safely abide forever.

Under His wings, what a refuge in sorrow!
How the heart yearningly turns to His rest!
Often when earth has no balm for my healing,
There I find comfort, and there I am blessed.

Refrain

Under His wings, oh, what precious enjoyment!
There will I hide till life’s trials are o’er;
Sheltered, protected, no evil can harm me,
Resting in Jesus, I’m safe evermore.

Refrain

Things arent always great. Life has ups and downs, twists and turns. You really cant predict where life is headed. I believe there are two ways to face this uncertain world: headfirst as an independent agent of chance and will power… or to seek refuge and guidance from the Creator of all things. This hymn is a powerful reminder of what lies in wait for those who seek the LORD for strength and wisdom.

Hymn writers have some of the most amazing stories. Amazing Grace was penned by an abolitionist. It is Well was penned after the writer had lost family tragically. This hymn was penned by Pastor William Cushing, around the year 1900. At fifty years old, he was afflicted by a disease that took his power of speech from him. As a pastor, not being able to speak makes that profession quite difficult. Sermon composition, and delivery was no longer a viable option… and this caused him great grief as he cried out to the LORD. But, where one door closes… another opens. The LORD will not put us through what we cannot handle, with Him by our side. Cushing found in his sorrow a gift for hymn writing – and he would write nearly 300 of them! It was twenty-five years after his new gift was revealed to him that he wrote “Under His Wings.” Towards the end of his life here on earth, he spoke up about that rest he had found in the Savior’s arms.

Imagine, if you wish, that one thing that makes you you. Whether it be athletics, speech, eyesight, your running, your singing, your spouse…. your kids…… now, if that thing were taken from you… ripped from your hands… how would you respond…? Who would you be? This is not an easy question to ponder.. or even consider answering. It is something that honestly makes me uncomfortable to even type up and think of myself… I dont want to think about what it would mean to lose my hearing, and my power to sing… or to lose my legs… or no longer see my wife and kids…. or even to lose my family. But God is a God of trust power, and I have seen people come back from terrible loss, and a great many more turn away during times of incredible gain… This hymn seeks to guide us to a better understanding of God’s work in our lives. Even when – especially when – everything seems down, we can find immeasurable power and love and grace and mercy and peace and direction… under His wings

Amen?

Leave a Reply

